The business of delay in banking

Before I commence my rant (I mean, this new topic), I should note that I am not an expert. I would love to hear from someone who is, and who can corroborate or correct what I write here.

I have recently found myself growing increasingly frustrated by financial institutions of various brands, and the countless ways they use my money to make theirs. Today’s area of frustration is one that I suggest Choice could and should campaign on, as it is both embedded into Australia’s financial system and is hidden from the average customer.

If you have ever needed to transfer money between financial institutions; or to bank a cheque; or to perform one of dozens of other financial transactions, you will find that it ‘takes time’. Transfers tend to take three business days (which presumably do not include ‘bank holidays’), while a cheque can take three days or more to clear.

This is logical, of course. The bank has to:

1. make sure your account has sufficient balance;
  2. identify the bank to which your money is going;
  3. write up all the transactions in and out of the bank to other institutions;
  4. prepare a record showing – for every other financial institution – whether it is due to receive money from them or pay money to them;
  5. send a letter to the other bank, seeking agreement on the amount owed or due;
  6. transfer the money, and confirm the amount transferred.

The receiving financial institution has to do much of this in reverse. It’s a nightmare of writing down all the figures, calculating them, getting them agreed…