Why is it compulsory to employ an electrician for installing simple goods? Is it required in these days?

As a pom, I was taught at primary school age how to wire up a 240v plug and fuse, and must have done so 100’s of times, as well as much more complex wiring like ring mains and lighting.

These days we have much better ‘live’ and polarity testing equipment.

What are the stats regarding the danger? Are electrical injuries high for the general population vs, say, electricians?

I suspect I am more likely to suffer injury drilling a hole in the wall to hang a picture? The testers are sensitive enough to locate live wiring.

As a Computer Science graduate, I can and have assembled desktop computers, but not permitted to install an extra light globe in the kitchen?

What’s the point of higher education, if we still retain such constraints that probably were based on stats from another era?

I bought a ceiling fan recently. The internal wiring is controlled by sophisticated plug and socket pairs, making it impossible to assemble the parts incorrectly eg, single cable, doubles, 4s and 6s each with unique patterns of round and square pairings. This is then connected to the 10amp lighting circuit, with 3 levels of safety, mains switch, lighting circuit breaker and its switch, and the actual wall light switch itself. All easily testable with a tester for live and polarity.

As it stands, I have to get the electrician to install this, call out $140+. If it fails I have pay for another call out, $140+, then another for the replacement under warranty, call out $140+. I say this because the failure rate for ceiling fans seems quite common!