TV antennas--real numbers

in “the good old days” TV antennas could be compared by looking at the GAIN in DB. Today they are compared using the ‘undefined comparative’ better,hi-gain, fringe etc. OK so most folks live in the cities and if they get a picture all is fine—they pay what ever the antenna guy wants to charge. I’m a caravanner—a Grey Nomad and constantly visiting areas of the country that dont have city type coverage. Antennas for TVs can be ridiculously expensive and often not fit for purpose (I’m a retired communications engineer). $100s for a bit of wire in a plastic tube that’s no better than a set of rabbit ears. Without the ability to compare the gain of the devices there is no way to choose for most folks other than using the superlatives created by marketing.
A simple fit for purpose (on axis) gain number should be simple to produce. Or we start a movement to insist that manufacturers quote a gain figure.

4 Likes

Thanks @grizzlyowl, great topic.

We’d like to hear more about everyone’s experiences with these type of antennas. Good experiences, bad ones, tips or tricks - please post below.

An example. the “Winegard Sensar III Amplified TV Antenna” ( https://camec.com/tv-audio/antennas-accessories/winegard-sensar-amplified-antenna-including-euro-jack.html)

Common on many caravans and Ideal for horizontally polarized VHF TV.

Unfortunately

1. 45% of reception is vertically polarised.
  2. 87% of reception is UHF.
1 Like

There was a application for a HP41C calculator where you put in the wave length, and then the measurements of the directors and reflectors that gave a gain number. It only worked for Yagi antennas. must have a look at the apps for Android again as last time I looked there was nothing there. I had an old DOS program too somewhere.

I can’t help with recommendations for a mobile installation - tricky because you may need it to work with everything being broadcast in Australia.