CHOICE Callout - Eco and ethical product labelling

Hi there, my name is Jarni and I’m an investigative journalist with CHOICE. CHOICE is looking into the issue of environmental and ethical labelling of products and needs your help. Have you seen companies making dubious eco or ethical claims about their products that you think warrants further investigation? Send us a tip off below or email to jblakkarly@choice.com.au

10 Likes

Here is a nice one. Earth Choice Laundry powder. The blurb says:

Earth Choice Ultra Concentrate Laundry Powder is naturally tough on stains with no harsh chemicals.

Authentic
For over 40 years, Earth Choice has pioneered green approaches to product, packaging and processes - setting the standard for the future of cleaning and leading the way in Australia.

Powerful
Nature is powerful but it takes more than plants to make an Earth Choice product. Each formulation contains powerful active ingredients sourced from natural elements, rather than petrochemicals to create a powerful cleaning solution that’s gentle on the earth.

Attainable
Tough on stains, gentle on the wallet Earth Choice believes in prioritising planet over profit, it exists to ensure Australians have access to natural cleaning solutions that don’t harm the earth. Always meeting the needs of families, stocking where you shop, and selling at an affordable price.

Earth Choice Ultra Concentrate Laundry Powder.
Touch on stains, gentle on nature.

Sourced from nature

• Plant based formula.
  • No petrochemical cleansers.
  • Reduce chemical waste & pollution.
  • Free from ammonia & chlorine.
  • Biodegradable (Surfactants are readily biodegradable according to Australian Standard AS4351).

Grey water & septic safe

• Septic safe.
  • Low sodium.

Recycled & recyclable

• Box made using 95% recycled packaging.

Cruelty free / vegan

• Not tested on animals / CCF accredited.
  • Free from animal derived ingredients.

Australian made & owned

Here are the ingredients from the MSDS