Upcoming CHOICE story: Insurance in super for older Australians

Hi all, I’m a journalist at CHOICE/Super Consumers Australia.

We’ve been working to ensure the insurance in super works for all Australians.

I’m currently writing about the disability and death insurance in super for Australians aged 60 or over.

We’re interested in:

• Whether you’ve found this insurance affordable/good value
  • If you’ve had any difficulty getting cover through your super at this age
  • Any issues with claiming on this insurance
  • Any barriers to engaging with this insurance (e.g. technology)

Comment below or contact me at dherborn@choice.com.au if you’re interested in sharing your experience for the story. Can be anonymous. Thanks!

3 Likes

My super provider withdrew cover when I turned 65.
Apparently standard practice. I’m not sure if being full time employed was a prerequisite. It was not expensive relative to other options.

2 Likes

Thanks Mark - 65 is the usual cut-off age for disability insurance in super though some funds offer cover for longer.

2 Likes

No surprise.
Although for many now normal retirement age is 67years or older.

2 Likes

I never understood the need for disability or death insurance - just claim your super early in the case of disability, and leave your super to your dependants/estate at your death. Or am I missing something?

Life insurance as a part of super was a reasonably cheap way of getting it, and for most workers, the employer paid for it via the SGC.

Young people may have very little accumulated super, but a greater need for life insurance. Young kids, mortgage on a home, rent to be paid, loans to be paid off, etc.

On the other hand, TPD in super, was and still is, a somewhat dubious benefit given the raft of conditions that apply. At least with life insurance it is very clear cut.