Is Greencross vets becoming a monopoly?

I have been using the same vet practice for over 50 years but a few years ago it became a Greencross vets. After that things started to change. The existing staff went and gradually staff became to change more often. I was referred to a Greencross Hospital nearby that all after hours calls were directed to. It was no longer possible to see anyone from my practice after hours. At that clinic you had to see whoever was on duty at the time. With a serious problem I saw 4 different vets over the course of a week. I have been getting increasingly unhappy but at my last consult received a quotation for my elderly cat for a tooth extraction plus one night on fluids before hand for $1500- $1800. On comparing this with a bill from 2 years ago I found price increases ranging from 26-40% which I thought was excessive. I am now seeking a second opinion from an independent vet practice that has been recommended to me. I read of the growth of Greencross vets and really think there increasing domination is becoming a monopoly situation and changing service delivery methods. Have others had similar experiences?

3 Likes

Welcome @Lulu44 to the Community.

Let your feet do the walking.
As I understand it, Greencross was established as a chain of vets, and is now owned by one of those nasty capital investment companies out of the US, TPG. They are also owners of Petbarn.
Find an independent vet practice and see how it goes.

3 Likes

Agree, Gregr. Their greed has overcome my laziness and I am now galvanised into action.
I was being loyal to a practice that had completely changed. CHOICE Transformers helped me change electricity providers and I’ve now done that again. Have to adapt to a rapidly changing environment or pay a price-literally!

3 Likes

Thanks for your post, @Lulu44 … I was considering a move to a Greencross Vet just recently, it would be geographically more convenient, but after reading this, I will not.

1 Like