Hearing Aids

Edit: New readers to the topic can join it as of September 2023 by clicking here. A link to the Choice buying guide is here.

I have been wearing hearing aids since nearly 20 years and am intrigued by the closed shop attitude of the providers in Australia. The hearing aids are getting more and more sophisticated and expensive, however I cannot see why a good pair of BTE (behind the ear) aids cost $10,000 here and only 1/3 of that in e.g. United States from a licensed provider. Please note that this price is for exactly the same brand and model h/aids including warranty and service. US providers freely offer their products, services and prices on the internet whilst we are treated like the proverbial mushrooms by our Australian providers. I am about due for another pair and would gladly buy local. Could Choice possibly have a look at these practices here in Australia?

10 Likes

If you are near a Costco, go there. The membership is $60 p.a. Costco has full service audiology departments and their service has been tops.

My hearing aides were about 1/3 the price that local independent audiologists demanded. They have a good range although not the top of the top of the state of the art but just below it (eg last years top model), down to fairly basic. A pair of high end BTE devices will be around $AUD2-3,000, product dependent.

5 Likes

Thanks for the request @dieterfb, Iā€™ll pass it on to our product testing team.

4 Likes

Jeb
I was born deaf and never wore hearing aids until I was 14. I got my first aid (at 9 or so), it was a heavy thing and useless. Next aid, at 14) was all in-the-ear mould, long wire attached to an aid that clipped to the pocket of my school skirt. The biggest problem with this type was the constant "shushing"sound made when I walked or played sport.

Then the all in-the-ear aid arrived and that was okay until I moved to the tropics, and with the humidity