Get the best value from your solar power

Electricity bills are set to skyrocket for the 146,000 households that have been part of the NSW Government’s Solar Bonus Scheme (SBS). The generous subsidised tariffs for exporting all of their rooftop solar power into the grid will stop at the end of this year. If you’re one of these customers, or if you’re a solar PV owner anywhere in Australia, we’ve put together some tips to keep your bills to a minimum and make the most of your solar power.

Read Alison Potter’s article.

I’m pleased to see that experts are now agreeing with what I’ve been telling people for many years!

5 Likes

Maybe. If you have the same use pattern as the test data you will get a saving of own use shortfall of about 4 percent in comparison to the standard north outlook for a typical sized array. If you go overboard and make your orientation too far to the east and west you will be worse off not better.

It would take some clever modelling (the method of which is not provided) of your situation, knowing your daily use pattern and the insolation in your area to work out the optimum orientation for your array. Since you would not know your daily use pattern before installation I wonder if this any value at all. You could take a guess and put a few panels on the NE and NW (if your roof allows) but how would you ever know if you guessed right?

If we orient our houses to the sun how many designs have roofs that face NE or NW? There may not have been any houses used to gather the base data that had such orientation, it isn’t stated. This study does not measure the outcome of orienting panels but calculates it under various assumptions and all the houses included are lumped together.

It is unlikely that anybody is going to do the modelling required before installing panels even if they had the base data to do it. Is there a simple rule of thumb that will suffice to give you a hand instead? No.