Computer Games : What are you playing?

At the moment I am playing " Fable 10th Anniversary Edition " on my Acer Predator Lap top . Also playing "Resident Evil 4 remake " on my Xbox X series .

What games are you playing at the moment ?

3 Likes

Baldurs Gate 3, Dragons Dogma I and II, Ultima, Planet Crafter, and a lot of others.

2 Likes

Sudoku! :rofl:

Most of my computer game experience is historical, and as an observer rather than a player. Iā€™ve just been the IT support for the gamers in the family. :hammer_and_pick:

My kids spent a lot of time on ā€œWhere in Time is Carmen Sandiego?ā€ ~20 years ago, and learned a surprising amount of history from it. ā€œThe Simsā€ was a favourite with both of them, too. Son had any number of computer games over the years and is still very much a gamer. I have no idea of the names any of them, though!

In the early 1970s I watched people playing ā€œPongā€ in the UQ student union building when I was a grad student. Apparently it was one of the first computer games. The version Iā€™m recalling was a two-player ā€˜arcade gameā€™ in the form of a low table with horizontal screen maybe 1.2m square.

The gameā€™s still available, I found! On somewhat smaller and more capable computing devices. :wink:

The next computer games I came across, at work in the early 1980s, were Space Invaders and Pac-Man, both played on an Apple II personal computer rather than the arcade game versions. We actually used Apple IIs to do real computer work, but some of my colleagues sneaked the games in and played them during breaks.

4 Likes

I tend to play games which are short rather than those that can go for weeks, months, years. Theres this one which I had forgotten about: Entanglement - by Gopherwood Studios, plus things like Sudoku, scrabble, ā€¦ anything which forces me to think.

3 Likes