Bike light buying guide

Light up your ride with a quality set of bike lights with help from @msteen. Includes a CHOICE review of the best bike lights.

If you have experience with bike lights, post about it here.

Great article. Even as a car driver I found the points about visibility really handy!

I’m someone who would love to be a cyclist, but I’m a little bit terrified of traffic. I don’t think my nerves could handle being a cyclist in the big city!!

Is anyone else a cyclist? I saw in another thread a few people are fitbit fans - is that just for walking or cycling, too? @jreay @ChiVe @vulture64 @fernei?

2 Likes

I’ve done many years of night riding (since the late 1970s), including 24 hour mtb racing, and lots of training rides, pretty much all of it either off-road or quiet rural roads around where I live.
I’ve used several varieties of home made lights, early ones in the 70s-80s were (dim) incandescent lights that used exepensive 4.5V batteries, then home made halogens and LEDs, and more recently bought HID and and multi LED lights. I currently have a nice bright Hope 4LED light (~900 lumens on high) on the front and a Chinese made 5 LED rear light.
I have previously used expensive very bright LED lights on the rear, but all the mounts tend to fail due to bouncing around on rough tracks and roads, and they are lost, so I see no point spending too much on them these days. The cheap Chinese one on the back has lasted as long as any other, is quite bright, and I have wrapped electrical insulation tape around top and bottom of the light to secure it to the mount, to make sure it doesn’t get lost on a rough road somewhere.

I dont use a fitbit, but have used a Garmin Edge (GPS, HR etc) bike computer since 2006.

2 Likes

Personally I’d like to see flashing lights off the list of considerations.
They make me sick as a cyclist or motorist which makes concentrating very difficult! :frowning: