AJAX Glass cleaner removes factory window tinting from car!

I used Ajax Spray n’ Wipe Glass today to clean the inside of my Corolla driver’s side window. Bad idea… it removed the factory window tinting. I look on the back of the bottle and it says “Advice: do not use on tinted glass”. Not that obvious unless you go looking for it.

Well, the stuff says it is for glass. And similar stuff with various brands is what I have been using for many years to clean car windows. And it looks the same as always… transparent blue liquid.

So, a warning… even if your car does not have an aftermarket tinting film applied to the windows, beware that this product can remove the factory tinting. I suspect it would also remove tinting from house glass windows too. Maybe other brands will also be tempted to sell glass-cleaning products that look the same as always but now do nasty things, so read the label carefully before use.

Not happy, Jan.

3 Likes

You didn’t mention how old the tinting is. I was told not to clean our tinted car windows for several months to allow the film to ‘set’ to the windows. You should have been given written instructions on how to clean the factory window film when you bought the vehicle.

Perhaps you sprayed on more window cleaner, or left it longer, and allowed the film to get saturated compared to your previous efforts? If you have ever seen window film being applied you will have seen them spray the window & the film with a diluted detergent to soften and move the film on the glass. I would think that anything that saturates the film would allow it to move, and possibly lead to the film tearing. Possibly soapy water would have done the same?

5 Likes

Choice tested the Ajax and many similar products.

and I’ll admit this is not something I would have expected, but Choice was atop it as a problem for all but two of the reviewed ‘products’, one being water.

4 Likes