Air Conditioner Warranty

We are having trouble with our gas heater/air conditioner. One of the zones remains open no matter what temperature it is set at, meaning that it gets very cold compared to the rest of the house. We have been told by the air conditioner manufacturer that it is probably a zone motor/damper problem and therefore we need to call the installer. We were told that the air conditioner/gas heater came with a 5 year warranty, but the installer says that doesn’t apply to the ducting, zone motors etc… which only has a 12 month warranty. The unit was installed less than 3 years ago. We are being told that we must pay a call out fee, minimum 1 hour labour plus the parts. Do we have a case under consumer law to have the part replaced free of charge?

3 Likes

I cannot answer that since I am not a lawyer, but suggest you collect every claim, including marketing statements, on any document related to your installation and especially any including the word ‘quality’ or similar.

The overview of consumer rights is here. It might be interesting to survey other manufacturers and vendors warranties for similar goods, and their prices, as points of comparison. You might find this and other similar data points useful to establish reasonable expectations that 12 months seems a bit under-done.

If I were you I would send them a ‘letter of demand’ stating your case, why you believe they are in breach, and what you want them to do and by when. Make sure you have written tracks.

I would build a dossier to cc to your state consumer affairs office if your supplier does not respond favourably in the first instance.

3 Likes

I don’t know if the below is the case but I would assume it is.