Veterinary Diet Cat Food for Diabetes

Choice had a campaign about pet food ingredients. However, when my cat developed Diabetes, I realized that it is still very difficult to come up with a suitable low-carb diet by looking at the labels. Under the circumstances I had to turn to a Veterinary Diet. However, I am still unsure, whether it is really beneficial for the cat. I think there should be an independent body that approves such diets, so that consumers can be sure that they are doing the best for their pets.

2 Likes

Hi whbaird, I used to work in the pet care industry and can answer some of that.

Let me start with the idea of an independent body. The AAFCO provides certification for formulas like adult, puppy and light weight. Unfortunately, the AAFCO does almost no research on the side of medical issues in pets, and does not provide certification for special dietary needs. The leading researchers on this front are actually major pet care companies including Royal Canin, Hills and Purina.

Unfortunately of course these companies are for profit, so yes it’s hard to trust them at face value. The normal way they maximise profit here is by closely restricting the price and where these products are sold. At the end of the day they are the ones with the most research on these conditions though, so personally for my dog who requires a special gentle liver diet I feed Royal Canin Hepatic. A good vet will be happy to explain to you what the difference is with these foods.

The way you can save money on the special veterinary diets is by ordering them online with the ‘repeat delivery’ option. This is the one way these companies do allow discounts. I hope this information helps.

4 Likes