Residency Tax Disclosure (Questions from Banks/Card Issuers)

My Bank has sent an email asking me to go online banking to answer questions about residency tax.
There are 3 question: Choose a country. Are you a tax resident? Are you a resident, a citizen, or both?
They would then forward to the ATO.

I said I was a taxable resident and both resident and citizen of Au, I hope I did right.
I’m always scared of ID theft maybe using my Tax number overseas.
Has anyone else got this from their bank, please?

5 Likes

I hope that you enter your usual online bank URL into the broswer rather than clicking on a link in the email…

There have been other reports, even on this community about banks requiring an updatie to customer details. It appears that some of their required information collection has been a bit lax or hasn’t been updated since changes requiring such information (and a response to fhe Royal Commission).

Here is an example…

https://choice.community/t/does-my-credit-card-provider-really-need-to-know/16642

The questions asked seem normal from what I can work out.

8 Likes

Thank you, @phb, much appreciated.
Yes, always do my own online address, and also this was what the email asked me to do.

My TFN was compromised early in the year and I get a bit anxious in case it has been fraudulently used.
I could not get a new number, as expected, but have voice recognition and a secret question with the ATO, but these would help only in case of a phone enquiry, I guess.

9 Likes

Thanks for sharing this experience @Gaby, hopefully it will help others understand what requests are genuine and alert them to the precautions you need to take to avoid issues.

8 Likes

Thank you, Brendan.
I try to be as aware as possible, especially to not give away too much of my private details, (Even if I have to miss out on loyalty bonuses and ‘Gifts’. I fear there’s a greater price to pay if anything goes wrong.)

5 Likes