Replacement of halogen bulbs

I read in the Guardian that halogen bulbs are to be phased out in favour of LEDs. And a good thing, too. I have already replaced all my halogen bulbs in this way except for those being powered through dimmers.

When halogen bulbs become no longer available, with what shall I replace such bulbs powered through dimmers?

5 Likes

LEDs, quite a wide range of them are compatible with dimmers (although perhaps not all types of dimmer). I’ve been using dimmable LED headlights on my bicycle for many years.

5 Likes

Thanks, Gordon. I’ll look around for them.

3 Likes

My understanding is some halogens will still be available, for use in locations where LEDs or other lighting technologies (CFL) won’t operate. One example is the halogen globes used for oven lights. LEDs generally have a maximum ambient operating temperature of 60-80oC. Temperatures above this most likely will result in premature/rapid bulb failures.

Here are some FAQs on dimmers and dimming LEDs.

5 Likes

Thanks very much for this. One of the FAQs prompts me to ask - will a “dimmable LED” work with a dimmer which hitherto worked with halogen bulbs? Or does a “dimmable LED” require a special LED dimmer?

3 Likes

Maybe not…but a dimmer switch must be compatible with a dimmable LED. If you know the brand and model of the dimmer you currently have, check to see what the manufacturer says about using it with LEDs.

Some switches have the brand visible on the switch surface of under the removal face plate (that is if the switch has a remove face plate). The model number may also be under the face plate of on that part of the switch covered by the face plate.

3 Likes

Thanks again. The dimmer is labelled “Clipsal NO.2032 VH” (visible after removing faceplate). I hope that will be compatible!

3 Likes