Real estate agents not listing prices

hi,

I have been monitoring the real estate market for last 5 years and within the past year or so I have noticed a very sharp spike in real estate agents not listing the price of properties.

They usually list with “Price Guide Available”, “Contact Agent” or “Price on application”.

I think the intention here is to prey on consumer ignorance of market values and deny information to the market and allow price shopping/comparison.

I wonder if CHOICE sees this non-transparent pricing as a major issue and if they are raising it with the various governments as something that needs to legislation to force agents to provide transparent pricing.

Even giving Domain and REIWA a Shonky Award would be nice.

6 Likes

It might equally be the industry’s way of dealing with the laws about under quoting.

In Vic (and similarly in other jurisdictions?) this applies

noting there are not only specifics required, but also approved templates.

Back to your premise about listing prices, never lose sight of the reality that agents work for the sellers not the buyers, and the less knowledge the buyer has and the more hype about a property, the more likely a sale will be even more advantageous for the vendor.

At least in Vic it appears the basic information has to be provided on request in an approved format, not necessarily listed.

4 Likes

And the agent as their commission will be higher.

1 Like

Well obviously and that is exactly why this industry needs to be monitored more closely by consumer groups.

Everything about the transaction is stacked to favour the vendor and no one represents the consumer (unless you hire a purchasing agent which is probably another big can of worms).

Even though the price is not displayed you can very easily determine what range it will be in by setting the min & max $ filters on whatever site you’re using, there’s several different increments depending on the amount. That’s what I’m doing. Hope this helps.