Pool Cleaner, whats reasonable?

I’m totally new to pool ownership. I saw the Choice review of pool cleaners and I bought a Maytronics Dolphin S150 from the pool guy that services my pool. I’ve done 6 full cleaning cycles and it isn’t doing what he indicated it would. Specifically, the bench seat is a third done and the shallow end isn’t getting done where the floor meets the wall. I can live with the steps not getting done but it doesn’t seem to me the other things are what I was expecting or advised would be the case. Its only a 7x3m pool and its doing a 2 hr cycle. I raised it with the pool guy when I popped into to see him on another matter. He advised to start it from the centre of the pool rather than at the shallow end. That helped slightly but not significantly. Given there’s some subjectivity around what a pool robot cleaner ‘does’, eg how clean is reasonable, how would you suggest addressing further? Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Have you tried the trouble shooting suggestions in the manual, including:

The other thing to try is to increase the cycle time greater than 2 hours, if possible to see if this improves the area of cleaning.

Stairs can be difficult as the design of the stairs can affect accessibility to the cleaner. Example being narrow stairs, wider than the cleaner, the cleaner is likely to get stuck or fall off.

thanks phb, yes good deas. I’ve tried and checked all of those. The bench seat is accessible but only does 1/3rd. The steps are more tricky, but it can reach the the floor/wall of the shallow area. I can’t increase the cycle time, thats a set time. I’m going to use a time lapse app and see where it goes.

2 Likes

Most pool cleaners I have seen follow a randomised type pattern as well, that being, when they reach an obstruction or the limits of their reach, they turn at a random angle.