New car delivery delayed what do i do?

Hi! this is my first time here. I’ve been told(via phone call on the 28th Nov) that my new car that was due to be picked up on the 30th November had “not arrived” and that they didn’t know what had happened to it. Now I’ve been told I won’t have it till the 10th December (pick up a few days later for extras to be added).
Is this normal? I was told they had found a car and that it was on its way. It seems bizarre to me that they would only find out on the day the car was due to be delivered that it wasn’t coming. Am I able to ask for any compensation? It’s really stuffed up my december as my current car is extremely unreliable and I can’t drive it anywhere to do christmas shopping.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum. That is a pretty ordinary way to start the holiday as well as buy a new vehicle.

As you imply, not advising you until the day it was to be delivered reflects poor business practices, although it could have been delayed in shipping/transport and they were not made aware until late in the game and are equally chagrined. Your best approach would be to ask why the delay rather than having a go at them, and then asking for a loaner. Many new car dealers routinely provide ‘free’ loaners to their service customers so they should be happy to accommodate.

Expect to be responsible for any damages and the petrol is probably on you but could be negotiable under the circumstances. You may have had to sign a liability form when you test drove, so this would be the same.

If your sales team pushes back ask to speak to a principal (MD, owner, sales manager) and put your case.

Any explicit rights you have will be in the Australian Consumer Law and then the sales contract. This ACL page may help your case and inform how you move ahead.

The operative paragraphs are