Myer refused to honour price match

I decided to buy a Philips Airfryer. I found a few retailers selling the model I wanted online for $240-260 but needed to visit a shopping centre the next day anyway so decided to ask Myer to price match as they have a price match policy. Myer’s price was $329. One of the retailers selling online has physical stores in Australia, so met Myer’s ‘Competitive Pricing Policy’. I worked in retail for years so am familiar with price match terms and conditions - I made sure I was meeting all the conditions before I requested the match, and informed the staff member that I had met all their conditions. However the Myer staff member came back to me (presumably after checking with a manager) and said the price was too low so they wouldn’t match it. He didn’t even offer me a discount, that was the end of the conversation. I walked out and checked to see if David Jones had the product. Not only did they have it, but it was already the price I had asked Myer for ($244).

When I got home I contacted Myer about not honoring their policy and they wrote back “We’ve passed your feedback onto the relevant areas in management for further review - thanks for taking the time to let us know.” To me this is not good enough. I feel like they are not taking this seriously and I should take it further, even though I’m no longer interested in obtaining the price match from them. Choice has a great price match article but I’m still not sure of the best way forward - any suggestions? Or should I just drop it and move on with my life?!

P.S The Airfryer (HD9621) is awesome, highly recommended!

7 Likes

Myer price match has an interesting caveat.

‘Myer may Price Match if:…’

That makes it quite discretionary. Further

‘Myer will not match the competitor’s price if: (from the list) It is below our cost price’