Injury on a RHINO Bunnings ladder

Hello I am a private contractor and I injured myself when the step broke on an aluminium 4ft step ladder I was using broke and I fell though it. I am not insured and the ladder is out of warranty period. Is there any action I can take against the ladder manufactur for injury and loss of income?
Thanks Andrew

2 Likes

Welcome to the Community @AHarris.

If it is a manufacturing defect then it may be covered by ACL rights?? You should really get some proper legal advice to find out. Here we provide opinion as most of us are not legally qualified to provide legal advice. ACL rights are not bound by Warranty periods, Warranties are in addition to your ACL rights, that is they do not limit ACL rights.

Even if not covered by ACL you may still have the ability to seek compensation for faulty goods and again this would require proper legal advice.

From the ACCC site:

“ Who is a consumer?

A person – or a business – will be considered a consumer if:

• they purchase goods or services that cost less than $100,000
  • the goods or services cost more than $100,000, but they are of a kind ordinarily acquired for domestic, household or personal use or consumption
  • the goods are a commercial road vehicle or trailer used primarily to transport goods on public roads.”

And

“ Businesses that sell goods guarantee that those goods:

• are of acceptable quality – the goods must be safe, lasting, have no faults, look acceptable and do all the things someone would normally expect them to do
  • are fit for any purpose that the consumer made known to the business before buying (either expressly or by implication), or the purpose for which the business said it would be fit for
  • have been accurately described
  • match any sample or demonstration model
  • satisfy any express warranty
  • have a clear title, unless you otherwise advise the consumer before the sale