GoPro cameras - seriously over-rated?

I think it would be fair to say that no camera has ever taken the world by storm the way the GoPro has.
The concept is great - compact, ruggedised, waterproof shooting high quality video & stills. Personally I’ve found the reality very different.
I’m a professional photographer & video maker so the GoPro can be invaluable for getting shots I otherwise couldn’t capture. In theory at least.
I have found these cameras to be highly unreliable.
I have owned GoPros from Hero 3 onwards & found all manner of issues…
Hero 3 had a very short battery life but was reasonably reliable however it was prone to overheating & shutting down. I had two different models of the 3. Both behaved the same.
Hero 4 battery life was terrible, would overheat & also shut down randomly for no explicable reason but most annoying thing was battery drain while off.
You could put the camera away fully-charged (I always recharge after a shoot) with everything switched off, pick it up two or three days later & it would have zero charge.
Problem this created was that every time you want to shoot you have to start charging the camera at least 6-hours beforehand.
After months & months of backwards & forwards hassling with GoPro they agreed to either replace my 4 with the same unit or I could buy a new model at a deep discount.
I went for the latter & bought a Hero 5 Session.
Guess what?
Same battery issues. Goes flat while doing nothing even with everything switched off.
I’ve also found the much vaunted wi-fi connectivity is difficult, flakey and massively increases battery drain.
In-short, I see these cameras as unreliable yet everyone fawns over them.
I do wish they were as good as they claim as I have shot some great footage (that’s why I still have one in my kit) but maybe the ability to shoot great footage message drowns out the unreliability side of things.