Detox foot patches

Hi all

Has anyone used Happy Feet foot patches, or had ANY experience with foot patches? They are supposed to draw out toxins via a patch that you apply to the bottom of your feet and other locations on your body.

thanks,

2 Likes

I have no experience to draw on of the particular product as I have never tried such a thing.

The reason is that the makers give no evidence that they do anything useful nor any mechanism by which they might act. The maker’s web site says:

• Helps to withdraw undesired toxins form the bodyromotes a detox in the body

Which I find meaningless. They also say:

Note: The statements contained on this website have not been reviewed or approved by the Therapeutic Goods administration for their validity. Nothing contained on this site is meant to infer or state that the products are for the treatment of any disease or ailment.

So to get it past the TGA they have to declare that it is not a medicine or medical treatment.

The detox industry works on several claims:

• that your woes are caused by toxins,
  • their system will remove those toxins and
  • consequently you will be more healthy and feel better.

So what does it actually do? It turns brown. You are expected to think that the “toxins” whatever that may mean are this brown gunk that may have come out of your feet. We have no data about what that substance may be or where it came from or what ‘removing’ it (assuming it is removed) might achieve.

Unless there is some evidence lurking that I cannot see my conclusion is that the detox industry are making it all up and in particular these pads do nothing useful and are a waste of money. But its all natural! Which is just another meaningless claim.

I nominate this product for a Shonky award.

10 Likes

The evidence suggests that these products are very effective at drawing out money from your wallet or bank account.

10 Likes