CHOICE membership

Confusion re insulating properties of Quilts

As winter is nigh, it is time to think about the purchase of a new warmer Duvet, Doona®, Quilt, Comforter, Continental Quilt, Eiderdown, or whatever one wants to call it. I used to work in the industry but still find the subject quite confusing at times.

The first challenge is to determine what filling is preferred, and price is likely to have bearing on that decision. Polyester fibre, wool, washable wool, feather or down (or both) or the trendy bamboo fibre. which is basically a synthetic viscose rayon fibre made from the dissolved cellulose in bamboo. At least the raw material is renewable, but there are questions as to the chemicals used to create the fibre.

Many on-line sellers show the price for their quilt, but that price is invariably for the Single size. The common Queen and King are naturally quite a bit more expensive.

But the question I am keen to know the answer to is about the product’s insulating properties. The problem is that the manufacturers and importers use a range of terms that often don’t tell you what you really need to know. The better ones are probably those that use terms like summer weight, all seasons or winter weight, but a winter fill rate required for Tasmania will be different to one for coastal Queensland. I believe the best measure of a quilt’s insulating properties is the one popular in the UK, the TOG rating. I’ve found only one supplier in Australia using that scientific measurement of insulation for quilts, and most Aussies would have no idea what it means anyway. Another supplier uses a scale of 1 to 7, while some relate their quilts to a specific numbers of blankets. Others use the fill rate in grams per square metre, which is meaningless unless you are familiar with that fill type.