Bitcoins and other cryptocurrencies

Hi just putting it out there information on Bitcoin please. I have no knowledge at all in regards to Bitcoin I no there are scams. Just wanting to learn

3 Likes

Welcome to the .community @Hippie,

This is not a financial forum so your best avenue to learn about bitcoin is via a search engine although I can start you off with this tutorial-like link

As a consumer site we discuss topics relevant to our lives as consumers so many members might find this topic informative as well as contribute their experiences.

Please peruse the scams category or use the forum search for ‘bitcoin scams’ noting those posted here are not all inclusive. The government Scamwatch site is a good place to check for current scams, also,

https://www.thebalance.com/beware-of-these-bitcoin-scams-4158112

and

I hope this at least partially addresses your query. Choices latest commentary on digital currency is 2015 so may not be relevant or current in 2020.
https://www.choice.com.au/money/banking/everyday-banking/articles/push-to-recognise-bitcoins-as-currency-060815

6 Likes

Bitcoin. Is this a con? Is it Safe?

Just wondering, mind!

3 Likes

It is a very high risk ‘investment’. I moved your post to this topic because many links have already been provided.

It is volatile. This long term plot smooths out short term aberrations but if you bought in 2018 you took a bath for a while. Today? Do you trust it will keep appreciating?

You would also be well placed to search the Community for ‘bitcoin scams’ of which there are many. It has made a small number of billionaires and probably caused more bankruptcies.

Another topic that can be instructive

4 Likes

There were two original ways of getting bitcoins.

1. Be granted them through solving complex maths problems to the satisfaction of the bitcoin community verification. Called bitcoin mining.
  2. Exchange goods or services in return for bitcoins.